Nexo on collateral & liquidation
7.4/ 35% of the score
Loan-to-value bands are published per asset, but liquidations are executed by the company rather than by a public contract.
Journalism for the digital-asset economy
Best Crypto Lending Platforms · Rank 08 of 8
Custodial borrowing with a consumer interface
Last verified August 16, 20264 scored axes
Self-reported only
Nexo scores 7.0 out of 10 and ranks #8 of 8 in the best crypto lending platforms table, strongest on collateral & liquidation (7.4) and weakest on counterparty clarity (6.4).
A long-running custodial lender that survived 2022 without halting withdrawals, which distinguishes it from most of its peers. You cannot see who is borrowing your assets, and that structural opacity caps how highly it can score here.
4 axes, weighted as published in the table’s methodology. Each score below is read from the fact printed under it.
7.4/ 35% of the score
Loan-to-value bands are published per asset, but liquidations are executed by the company rather than by a public contract.
7.0/ 25% of the score
Operating since 2018 and continued honouring withdrawals through the 2022 credit crisis; runs a real-time reserve attestation with a named accounting firm, though not a full audit of the loan book. In January 2026 California's financial regulator penalised it $500,000 for unlicensed lending to state residents between 2018 and 2022.
7.0/ 20% of the score
Rates are set at the company's discretion and vary with how much of the platform token a customer holds; the tier tables are published.
6.4/ 20% of the score
The borrower side of the loan book is not disclosed, and depositors are unsecured creditors of the company.
Through the 2022 credit crisis, when several custodial lenders froze redemptions and never reopened, Nexo continued honouring withdrawals. That is the most meaningful thing on its record, and it should be weighted accordingly: promises are cheap in this category and behaviour under stress is not.
Borrowing against collateral rather than selling it means a purchase is not a disposal, which in many jurisdictions changes the tax treatment entirely. The cost is the published interest rate plus any FX markup. This is general information rather than tax advice, and it is the main reason people use the product.
The borrower side of the loan book is not disclosed, so depositors cannot assess who is using their assets. Real-time reserve attestation with a named accounting firm covers assets, not the quality of the credit behind them, and it is not a full audit.
In January 2026 California's financial regulator penalised the company $500,000 for unlicensed lending to state residents between 2018 and 2022. Rates also vary with how much of the platform token you hold, with tier tables published.
As a borrowing facility rather than a savings account. Borrowing against collateral you control the loan-to-value on is a defined exposure; depositing for yield makes you an unsecured creditor of a company whose loan book you cannot inspect.
It continued honouring withdrawals through the 2022 credit crisis and runs a real-time reserve attestation with a named accounting firm. The unresolved gap is that the borrower side of the loan book is undisclosed, so depositors are unsecured creditors without a view of the credit.
Borrowing against your crypto instead of selling it, so the purchase is a loan rather than a disposal — which in many jurisdictions changes the tax treatment. You pay the published interest rate.
Yes. In January 2026 California's financial regulator imposed a $500,000 penalty for unlicensed lending to state residents between 2018 and 2022.
8 services in best crypto lending platforms